Body Piercing Program
Environmental Health Program
Fax407-228-1467 or 407-228-1468
1001 Executive Center Drive, Suite 200
Orlando, FL 32803
Body piercing is an invasive procedure that presents the potential for infection and transmits blood borne pathogens, if minimum sanitary and safety standards are not met. Operators and piercers must be trained in infection-control procedures prior to licensure of a body-piercing salon. Training courses are reviewed and accepted by the Department of Health, Bureau of Facility Programs.
In 1999, the Florida Legislature passed Florida Statute 381.0075, regulating the body-piercing industry and authorizing the Department of Health to write rules and regulations to administer the program. Chapter 64E-19 of the Florida Administrative Code prescribes the minimum sanitary and safety requirements related to the design, operation, and maintenance of body-piercing salons and temporary establishments.
All body piercing facilities located in Orange County must apply to the Orange County Health Department for a Salon License located on the Florida Health Body Piercing Program Web Page. The annual permit fee is $215.00.
In addition, Body Piercing Facilities are required to provide:
- Pre-piercing instruction on how the procedure will be performed
- Possible risks and consequences
- After care instructions and restrictions
Prior to the piercing, the customer must sign and date a statement that they have received and discussed this information with the piercer. The piercer must also sign the form.
A customer record must filled out and kept but the facility. This includes:
- Customer name, address, and phone number
- Physician name, address, and phone number
- Emergency name, address, and phone number
- Name of the piercer
- A list of allergies
- History of bleeding disorders
- Dates of all visits to the facility regarding piercing Body part(s) to be pierced
- Description of the jewelry used in piercing
- Description of any complications during the piercing
Minors under 18 years of age and at least 16 years of age must have a notarized consent form signed by their parent or legal guardian. The consent form must have a description of the type of piercing to be performed on the minor. Minors under 16 years of age must be accompanied by the parent or legal guardian.
The piercing facility must display a notice of where and how to file a report of any injury resulting from the piercing. A copy of an Injury Report Form located on the Florida Health Body Piercing Program Web Page, should be supplied by the piercer.
Selecting a Body Piercer
When choosing a Body Piercing facility here are some things to consider:
- Check for a permit issued by the Department of Health.
- Check for posted information on how and where to file an Injury Report from a Body Piercing.
- Ask the piercer to describe the process including any risks, possible consequences, precautions, and after care instructions.
- Make sure they have you sign a statement that they have discussed all this information with you before they do the piercing.
- Unless you are obviously over 21 years of age, the piercer should ask you to produce proof of age.
- The piercer is required to keep a record consisting of personal and medical information as well as piercings.
- The piercer should be happy to show you his cleaning and sterilizing procedures for his equipment and jewelry.
- If, during your initial visits, the piercer seems reluctant to answer all your questions or you see things that don't look right to you, you may want to check out another piercer.
- If, following the piercing, you have any concerns or problems with the piercing, go back to the piercer and discuss the situation with them. If they are not able to help you, then see a physician.
- If you have any problems getting a proper response from the piercer, call your local Health Department.
- If you have any questions about body piercing or how or where to file a complaint, give our office a call at 407-858-1497.